The Epistle of Jude and Greco-Roman Associations

Here are the lectures on the somewhat unknown epistle of Jude. In the introductory issues I wrestle with the problem of authorship, its relationship with 2 Peter, date, and the intended recipients. I draw heavily on Philip Harland’s Associations, Synagogues, and Congregations which allowed me to realize that Jude was writing to communities which either viewed themselves or others viewed them as Greco-Roman associations. I introduce my students to these ancient associations and suggest they are key to understanding the particularly heated and selective language used by Jude in this letter.

Let me know in the comments below what you think of reading the epistle of Jude in light of ancient associations.

Enjoy!

 

Critical Introduction to Jude – part one

 

Critical Introduction to Jude – part two

 

Exegesis of Jude – part one

 

Exegesis of Jude – part two

 

One thought on “The Epistle of Jude and Greco-Roman Associations

Leave a comment